Why I Love Movies.

hugo-movie-theater

Writing an essay about loving movies isn’t very original, I’m pretty sure there are hundreds of essays online with this exact same title. So consider this just one more leaf on the pile, one more essay talking about the joy and emotion that come out of the world of film. You can also look at this a sort of mission statement for this site, for how I look at movie and art in general. At it’s core reviewing art is trying to put into words the gut feeling we get when that art is consumed, its not a science. I know how I feel about art, even if that feeling is not knowing how I feel about it, reviewing is filling in the why. To understand my reviews and to see where I’m coming from when I write them, I think it’s important to know my connection to the medium. Specifically here I’m going to write about film, mostly because it’s the one I write the most about and because it’s my favorite.

I think everyone has a movie, usually that they saw at a young age, that was “the movie”. The one that made them stay up at night thinking about what they saw. The one where something clicked in their mind and made them want to see every movie they could. For me that movie was Garden State, Zach Braff’s 2004 ode to sad, quirky, awkward, white dudes everywhere. Perhaps in retrospect it isn’t that good but from the moment younger me saw the movie I was hooked. There was something about Garden State that made it the right movie at the right time, something about it that made me feel something that I don’t think I had felt before. I think it was longing, longing for a world that didn’t exist, that you could only reach through this film. So it stayed with me.

Garden-State

I haven’t watched Garden State in years, I don’t know if I would even like it now, but I do remember the way it made me feel the first time I saw it. It isn’t my favorite movie anymore, as the years have gone by and I’ve seen more films I’ve replaced it with movies I think are better. Every single one of those films has made me feel something, not the same thing I felt with Garden State but each unique in the emotions and memories they elicit. But a movie doesn’t have to be my favorite to have and impact. Ultimately I think there are three reasons why I continue to love movies. First, movies are entertaining, they’re cool, they’re fun and they provide an escape from our lives. Second, movies widen the world, they expose us to new ideas, and they create new universes to explore. Finally, I believe that film is a unique medium that provides that is the best at making us feel.

I think the entertainment values of movies is something we all take for granted, but it isn’t one we talk enough about. Yes, movies are an art form, and many movies are made for the sole purpose of being artistic. It’s a noble goal, and one I support. But, at least in the United States, the majority of movies people will see were created with the purpose of entertaining people. This can take a variety of forms, from an action film such as Speed to a murder mystery movie like Murder On The Orient Express. There’s something fun and relaxing about leaving your current situation behind and melting into the symphony of action or the story of whatever your watching. Creating good entertainment, the kind people will want to revisit, isn’t easy, and it is something to be admired when that is created.

For me, perhaps the genre that best exemplifies this is action. Now of course action movies can tell us about the society we live in or makes think about new ideas, in fact the very best ones do but at their heart I believe that action movies are about giving us thrills. There’s a lot to admire about a movie like Die Hard, the way it’s expertly plotted, the acting, but what I like the most about it is just how much fun it is. Maybe that’s a weird thing to say about a movie about a terrorists taking over an office building but it really is fun to watch a movie about a hero taking on a group of bad guys. We want him to succeed, we root for him, we marvel at the explosions and stunts, and we’re happy when at the end the good guy wins. There’s something beautiful in the action of these films, something incredible about the way they take us into a fantasy where these things can happen.

McClane-hanging-from-a-fire-hose-Die-Hard

In their own way, every movie creates its own world. It’s sort of an intrinsic fact of creating a film, that by having a camera and showing things on it that it becomes a world of its own. In creating these new worlds movies bring us new things to think about, new ideas, and introduce to cultures that aren’t our own. I think that’s a beautiful thing about movies, that they can tell me a story about someone who’s life, upbringing, and culture are different from mine and that I am able to see it from their perspective.

In this thread are documentary films that allow people to be exposed to new ideas and to have realities revealed to them. There’s something about being shown real moments and real events that make documentary films such a rewarding experience. In this vein we also have films that push new ideas through fiction. In particular those that combine this with new worlds to create places that people may truly want to inhabit.

There’s something clichéd about wanting to live in a science fiction or fantasy world. I think it’s because it’s something everyone has dreamed about, few people imagine themselves living in the crime-ridden world of The Godfather, people may want to be the main character or observe their world from the safety of their home but not live in them. However, who hasn’t dreamed of living in the world of Star Trek, going to Hogwarts, or even the Hollywood high schools of the 80’s. Movies allow us to create new universes and in doing so allow us to dream of them.

transamerica-pyramid-2258-stxi

In the end I feel that the greatest strength of film is this, films are the best catalyst for allowing us to access and magnify those memories, moments, and emotions that live deep in the back of our mind. When the sound, images, editing, and acting that make up a movie come together in just the right way they help us to experience emotions we may not have thought about in a long time. I think every good movie does this, accesses some forgotten part of our brain and make us feel in a way that other mediums just don’t.

Let’s take something as simple as the first time you kiss someone. I’m sure most people could explain to someone the way they felt the first time they kissed someone, whether they were nervous or excited, confident or shy, and when they did it how it was. If you read a passage of a book about a first kiss maybe that might remind you of that moment. A song might play that brings back that memory, and yet for me all of those only bring back the memory, not the emotion.

But when I watch the “Kiss the Girl” sequence from The Little Mermaid there’s something about the combination of the song, the visuals, and the whole film making package that does more than just bring back the memory. It makes me feel like I did the first time I kissed someone. Of course that was years ago so I don’t really remember exactly the way I felt, only that it was some mixture of fear, excitement, nervousness, adrenaline, and joy. However watching that part of The Little Mermaid makes me feel the way I feel that I felt during my first kiss.

maxresdefault (1)

The best movies make us feel this way, in a vague, hard to describe, they make us feel the way we imagine we do about things we imagine about. That is the real power of film, helping us to draw the emotions we store away and don’t think about. Movies can do so much, entertain, give us new worlds, but at end, at their core, movies are like all the best works of art. They work as lenses, lenses that focus the deeply human emotions we all feel and project them on a screen for us to marvel at.

Leave a Reply

